A principal duty of the fleet is tending lighthouses, buoys and other aids to navigation in Canadian coastal and inland waters. Coast Guard ships, including icebreakers, take part each summer in the Department's Arctic re-supply operations, moving some 100,000 tons of cargo to more than 40 ports of call in the Far North. These ships work in conjunction with a number of chartered commercial vessels which carry most of the cargo. During the winter, the icebreakers operate in support of commercial shipping in the Gulf of St. Lawrence from Cabot Strait to the Quebec North Shore. They also operate in the St. Lawrence River to break ice jams and prevent flooding, particularly in the section between Trois-Rivières and Montreal.

The Coast Guard ships assist with projects of other Canadian Government departments, such as scientific programs carried out by research teams based aboard various ships ranging from the Great Lakes to the High Arctic in such fields as oceanography, hydrography and related sciences. Departments concerned with the development of the Canadian Arctic and with the welfare of its population also carry out their undertakings with the aid of Coast Guard ships.

A Canadian Coast Guard Officer Training College, officially opened in September 1966 at Sydney, N.S., provides a four-year course for students, who will graduate as junior engine-room or deck officers. Upon acquiring the necessary sea experience, they may take the examinations to earn the rank of engineer first-class or master foreign going, respectively.

The Shipbuilding Branch prepares the basic requirements for new vessels required by the Canadian Coast Guard and supervises the design and specifications for construction. The design drawings are prepared by commercial naval architects and the ships are built, under contract, by various Canadian shipbuilding firms under the supervision of the Branch. It also performs this work for a number of other Government departments and agencies.

The Marine Hydraulics Branch comprises three Divisions—Marine Hydraulics, the St. Lawrence Ship Channel, and Marine Traffic Control. Marine Hydraulics deals with the hydraulic and engineering aspects of providing navigable channels for marine transportation on the Great Lakes and the St. Lawrence River. Maintenance and improvements of the St. Lawrence River below Montreal and of the Saguenay River are under the jurisdiction of the St. Lawrence Ship Channel Division, which is located in Montreal.

In the interests of St. Lawrence River traffic safety, a Marine Traffic Control Service was established on Apr. 3, 1967, as a result of studies initiated by the Department in 1964. Using very high frequency (VHF) radio equipment, the service keeps track of ship traffic in much the same way as the air traffic controllers watch over the busy sky lanes. The information needed to assist ships' masters in the safe conduct of their vessels comes from two main traffic control centres—one at Quebec and the other at Montreal—six shore stations and 18 reporting points along the river between Montreal and Les Escoumins, Que. All ships navigating the river must be equipped with the required VHF equipment to take advantage of the service.

Field Organization.—In the field, a regional management organization within the Marine Services is being developed. This system will provide the Department with more efficient means of matching resources to workloads in all areas. Included in the completed system will be the 11 district marine agencies that have existed for many years, and some 15 other Marine Services field offices that in the past have been reporting individually to Marine Services directors or to the Assistant Deputy Minister, Marine.

The first step was completed in May 1967 with the establishment of the Maritime Region. This covers the Maritime Provinces and their outlying islands including Sable Island and the Magdalen Islands, and embraces the Steamship Inspection Service and Nautical and Pilotage offices in the three provinces. In all, there will be five regions, each under a regional director. The other four will be Newfoundland Region; Laurentian